B&B Memories: Tudor Hall B&B on Keuka Lake, NY

tudorbbkeuka

A journey is made up of various “stops” along the way. I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing hospitality and offering hospitality in a variety of ways that influence our vision of living in and running a Bed & Breakfast.

A number of years ago I was invited to speak to a graduating class of Education majors at Keuka College in New York. They graciously hosted me at the Tudor Hall B&B on Keuka Lake – one of the Finger Lakes in upstate NY.

It was the tail end of winter in March and although there was no snow on the ground, the still frigid air bit through my wool coat with a vengeance as I found my way to the water’s edge that first day. I hadn’t dressed warm enough for this brief excursion! Back in my suite – The Royal Suite – I was quickly enveloped by hissing warmth of a radiator and a small decanter of port on the coffee table in the quaint sitting area.

I climbed into the quilt covered king sized bed listening to the constant serenade of the wind coming off of the lake. Sleep comes easily for me in a B&B, and this night was no exception.

In the morning I was welcomed in the dining room by the owner Priscilla – she served me bacon and egg cups (which I still make to this day), fresh melon, and muffins with a variety of jams and jellies. As I was the only guest at the time, Priscilla visited with me during breakfast. I was grateful for the company. Bacon-Egg-Breakfast-Bites-5-A-Pretty-Life

I only spent one night at Tudor Hall, but the memory is still fresh and so very pleasant. I plan to serve bacon and egg cups in our bed & breakfast too!

Leave a Reply

